Faculty Directory

Pitt Law professors have defined bioethics, illuminated discrimination, and clarified intellectual property disputes. They advise the founders of new democracies and provide perspec­tive on civil liberties in the United States.

Pitt Law has led the move to free worldwide online sharing of legal and judicial scholarship with JURIST, publishing international news and primary source documents. The school also sponsors legal symposia for industries from health care to natural gas and brings experts to campus for formal lectures and informal debate.

Full Time Faculty

Jessie Allen
Associate Professor of Law
jallen@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2175
Chaz Arnett
Assistant Professor of Law
chaz.arnett@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2921
Kevin Ashley
Professor of Law
ashley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1495
(412) 624-7496
Elena Baylis
Elena Baylis
Professor of Law
ebaylis@pitt.edu
(412) 867-8690
Deborah Brake
Associate Dean for Research & Faculty Development
John E. Murray Faculty Scholar and Professor of Law
dlb21@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2655
Ronald Brand
Academic Director, CILE
rbrand@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1307
Ben Bratman
Professor of Legal Writing
beb9@pitt.edu
(412) 383-7671
Teresa Brostoff
Professor of Legal Writing
brostoff@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2364
William Carter, Jr.
William Carter, Jr.
Professor of Law
william.carter@law.pitt.edu
(412) 383-0493
Pat Chew
Judge J. Quint Salmon and Anne Salmon Chaired Professor
patchew@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1387
Mary Crossley
Mary Crossley
Professor of Law
crossley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5300
Vivian Curran
Distinguished Professor of Law
vcurran@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1393
Kevin Deasy
Kevin Deasy
Associate Dean of Students
deasy@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5642
Gerald S. Dickinson
Gerald Dickinson
Assistant Professor of Law
gerald.dickinson@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2415
Greer Donley
Greer Donley
Assistant Professor of Law
donley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1359
Professor Jasmine Gonzales Rose
Jasmine Gonzales Rose
Associate Professor of Law
jrose@pitt.edu
(412) 624-7946
Philip Hackney
Associate Professor of Law
phackney@pitt.edu
(412) 383-0434
Haider Ala Hamoudi
Vice Dean of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law
Professor of Law
hamoudi@pitt.edu
(412) 624-1055
David A. Harris
David Harris
Sally Ann Semenko Endowed Chair
daharris@pitt.edu
(412) 648-9530
Bernard Hibbitts
Professor of Law
hibbitts@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2360
Honorable Former U.S. Attorney David J. Hickton
David Hickton
Founding Director, Institute for Cyber Law, Policy, and Security
cyber.institute@pitt.edu
Anthony C. Infanti
Anthony Infanti
Christopher C. Walthour, Sr. Professor of Law
Affiliate Faculty, Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies Program
infanti@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1244
Jules Lobel
Jules Lobel
Professor of Law
jll4@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1375
Grant MacIntyre
Grant MacIntyre
Clinical Assistant Professor of Law
Director of the Environmental Law Clinic
macintyre@pitt.edu
(412) 624-4109
Michael J. Madison
Michael Madison
Professor of Law and John E. Murray Faculty Scholar
madison@pitt.edu
(412) 648-7855
Martha M. Mannix
Martha Mannix
Clinical Associate Professor of Law and Gloria McDermott Hickton Professor of Elder Law
mmannix@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1390
Peter B. Oh
Peter Oh
Professor of Law
poh@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1101
Tomar Pierson-Brown
Tomar Pierson-Brown
Clinical Assistant Professor of Law
tnb25@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5476
Ann Sinsheimer
Ann Sinsheimer
Professor of Legal Writing
ans24@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1281
Matiangai Sirleaf
Assistant Professor of Law
matiangai.sirleaf@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1364
Alice Stewart
Alice Stewart
Visiting Clinical Associate Professor
als243@pitt.edu
(412) 624-7857
David Thaw
David Thaw
Associate Research Professor of Law
Assistant Research Professor of Computing & Information
dbthaw@pitt.edu
Sheila I Vélez Martínez
Sheila Velez Martinez
Jack & Lovell Olender Professor of Refugee, Asylum, and Immigration Law
siv7@pitt.edu
(412) 383-9897
Lu-in Wang
Lu-in Wang
Professor of Law
lu-inwang@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2329
Rhonda Wasserman
Professor of Law
wasserma@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1338
Amy Wildermuth
Dean of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law
amy.wildermuth@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1401

Emeritus Faculty

Douglas Branson
W. Edward Sell Professor of Business Law
branson@pitt.edu
Nancy M. Burkoff
Nancy Burkoff
Professor Emeritus of Law
nburkoff@pitt.edu
Richard Delgado
Professor Emeritus of Law
rdelgado@law.ua.edu
Harry M. Flechtner
Harry Flechtner
Professor Emeritus of Law
flecht@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1395
Cyril Fox, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of Law
caf@pitt.edu
Lawrence A. Frolik
Lawrence Frolik
John E. Murray Faculty Scholar
frolik@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1363
Robert Harper
Professor Emeritus of Law
rblaw@pitt.edu
Arthur Hellman
Professor Emeritus of Law
hellman@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1340
William Luneburg, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of Law
wvl@pitt.edu
Margaret Mahoney
Professor Emeritus of Law
mahoney@pitt.edu
Alan Meisel
Alan Meisel
Professor Emeritus of Law
meisel@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1384
Thomas Ross
Professor Emeritus of Law
tr1@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1312
Richard Seeburger
Professor Emeritus of Law
RHseeburger@aol.com
Stella Smetanka
Professor Emeritus of Law
sls6@pitt.edu
Jean Stefancic
Research Professor Emerita
jstefancic@law.ua.edu
George Taylor
Professor of Law
gtaylor@pitt.edu
(412) 648-8134

Jurist Fellows and Professors of Practice

Kevin Abbott
Professor of Practice
kca13@pitt.edu
(412) 624-6434
Charles C. Cohen
Charles Cohen
Professor of Practice
ccohen@cohenlaw.com
(412) 624-2829
Stephanie Dangel
Professor of Practice
sad111@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5966
The Honorable D. Michael Fisher
D. Michael Fisher
Distinguished Jurist Fellow
dmf18@pitt.edu
Judith Fitzgerald
Distinguished Jurist Fellow
jfitzgerald@tuckerlaw.com
(412) 594-3933

Visiting Faculty

William Congelio, Esq.
Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor
congelio@pitt.edu
Leigh Coogan
Visiting Professor For Legal Writing
lcoogan@pitt.edu
Joshua Galperin
Visiting Associate Professor of Law
joshua.galperin@pitt.edu
412-383-4515
Jacqueline Lipton
Visiting Professor of Law  
JDL103@pitt.edu
(412) 383-3207
Laurie Marin
Visiting Professor of Practice
lauriemarin@pitt.edu
412-643-0430
Marily Nixon
Professor of Practice  
marilynixon@pitt.edu
412-383-4411
Judith Teeter
Visiting Professor
jut13@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2450

Adjunct Faculty

Sara Burhan Abdullah, Esquire
Adjunct Professor of Law
sara@sbabdullahlawfirm.com
412-586-7409
John Adamczyk
Adjunct Professor of Law
Rodney Akers
Adjunct Professor of Law
akersr@aol.com
Lynn Alstadt
Adjunct Professor of Law
lynn.alstadt@bipc.com
412-562-1632
Heather Batzel
Adjunct Professor of Law
Alan Baum
Adjunct Professor of Law
abaum@mbo-pc.com
412-338-4743
Jackie Belczyk, Adjunct Professor of Law
Jaclyn Belczyk
Research Director, JURIST
belczyk@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1386
Thomas Beline
tbeline@cassidylevy.com
(202) 567-2316
The Honorable Cathy Bissoon
Cathy Bissoon
57th Commissioned Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of Pennsylvania
C. Black, Jr.
Adjunct Professor of Law
allenblack@sunpillar.com
Paul Boas
Adjunct Professor of Law
paulboas@comcast.net
Edward Borkowski
Adjunct Professor of Law
Pam.Farrell@court.allegheny.pa.us
Eduardo Bozzo
Adjunct Professor of Law
eduardohbozzo@gmail.com
Samuel Braver
Adjunct Professor of Law
Robert Brenner
Adjunct Professor of Law
rmb18@pitt.edu
Christopher Channel
Adjunct Professor of Law
cchannel@babstcalland.com
412-394-6556
Susan Cohen
Adjunct Professor of Law
suecohen@katz.pitt.edu
412-648-1707
Timothy Conboy
Adjunct Professor of Law
tim@conboylaw.com
Pamela Connelly
Adjunct Professor of Law
pwc4@pitt.edu
James Corbelli
Adjunct Professor of Law
jcorbelli@babstcalland.com
412-394-5649
Daniel Corbett
Adjunct Professor of Law
djc112@pitt.edu
Elliot Dater, Esquire
Adjunct Professor of Law
EDater@schnader.com
412-577-5214
Claudia Davidson, Esquire
Adjunct Faculty
Claudia.davidson@pghlaborlawyers.com
412-391-7709
Marshall Dayan, Esquire
Assistant Federal Public Defender
marshalldayan@gmail.com
412 644-6565
Charles DeMonaco
Adjunct Professor of Law
cdemonaco@foxrothschild.com
Cecile Desandre
Adjunct Professor of Law
ceciledes@yahoo.com
Marc DeVos
Adjunct Professor of Law
Steven Diaz
Adjunct Professor of Law
sdiaz@diazlaw.net
Louis DiNardo, C.P.A., J.D.
Adjunct Professor of Law
Louis.a.dinardo@us.pwc.com
Matthew Divelbiss
Adjunct Professor of Law
mrdivelbiss@jonesday.com
412-394-7297
Melissa Dougherty
Adjunct Professor of Law
T. Matthew Dugan
Adjunct Professor of Law
Christian Ehret
cehret@webblaw.com
(412) 471-8815
Jessica Ellel
Adjunct Professor of Law
Jack Elliott
Adjunct Professor of Law
Thomas Farrell, Esquire
Adjunct Faculty
tfarrell@farrellreisinger.com
412-894-1380
Ralph Fischer
Adjunct Professor of Law
ralph.fischer@bipc.com
412-392-2121
Paige Forster
Adjunct Professor of Law
Susan Frietsche
Adjunct Professor of Law
sfrietsche@womenslawproject.org
412-281-2892
Craig Frischman
Adjunct Professor of Law
Michael George
Adjunct Professor of Law
mgeorge@mikegeorgelaw.com
Amanda Gerstnecker
Adjunct Professor of Law
Myles Getlan
mgetlan@cassidylevy.com
(202) 567-2304
Stephen Gilson
Adjunct Professor of Law
sgilson@pitt.edu
412-383-0413
John Gismondi
Adjunct Professor of Law
jpg@gislaw.com
Bret Grote
Adjunct Professor
bretgrote@yahoo.com
412-654-9070
K. Mark Hall, Esquire
Adjunct Professor of Law
mark_hall@pawd.uscourts.gov
412-208-7475
Kevin Harkins
Adjunct Professor of Law
kharkins@cohenlaw.com
Tina Hershey
Adjunct Professor of Law
tbh16@pitt.edu
Craig Heryford
Adjunct Professor of Law
cheryford@grsm.com
Leo Hitt
Adjunct Professor of Law
lhitt@reedsmith.com
Thomas Hitter
Adjunct Professor of Law
thomas.hitter@pitt.edu
412-383-0469
Joseph Hornack
Adjunct Professor of Law
Program Director of the Human Resources Law Online Graduate Certificate Program
jsh18@pitt.edu
(412) 383-3489
Kenneth Horoho, Jr.
Adjunct Professor of Law
khoroho@gha-lawfirm.com
John Iole
Adjunct Professor of Law
jeiole@jonesday.com
Ira Karoll
Adjunct Professor of Law
irk9@pitt.edu
Stephen Kaufman
Adjunct Faculty
steve.kaufman@usdoj.gov
412-644-3500
Adam Kelson
Adjunct Professor of Law
AKelson@saul.com
(412) 209-2512 , (412) 209-2573
Oliver Kim
Adjunct Professor of Law
Miles Kirshner, Esquire
Adjunct Faculty
mkirshner@margolisedelstein.com
412-281-4256
George Kontos
Adjunct Professor of Law
gkontos@kontosmengine.com
James Kopelman
Adjunct Professor of Law
james@jacquesandjacques.com
Daniel Kovalik
Adjunct Professor of Law
dkovalik@usw.org
Josh Lamancusa
Beth Lazarra
Adjunct Professor of Law
blazzara@alleghenycourts.us
Lawrence Lebowitz
Adjunct Professor of Law
llebowitz@cohenlaw.com
Richard Levine
Adjunct Professor of Law
rlevine@aldlawfirm.com
412-338-9030
Penina Lieber
Adjunct Professor of Law
penina.lieber@dinsmore.com
Blaine Lucas
Adjunct Professor of Law
blucas@bccz.com
Beverly Manne
Adjunct Professor of Law
bmanne@tuckerlaw.com
Lisa Marcus
Adjunct Professor of Law
lisazmarcus@gmail.com
Lisa Martinelli
Jason Matzus
Adjunct Professor of Law
jason@gislaw.com
Kathleen McAllister
Adjunct Professor of Law
Regis McClelland
Adjunct Professor of Law
rmm@mcclellandlawgroup.com
John McIlvaine, III
Adjunct Professor of Law
jmcilvaine@webblaw.com
Kemal Mericli
Adjunct Professor of Law
Thena Robinson Mock
Adjunct Professor of Law
trobinsonmock@pitt.edu
(202) 643-2724
Mary Nell Cummings
Mary Nell Cummings
Adjunct Professor of Law
mnc39@pitt.edu
(724) 816-5125
Clay Nestler
Timothy O'Brien O'Brien
Adjunct Professor of Law
David Overstreet
Adjunct Professor of Law
david.overstreet@palawgroup.com
Stephen Paschall
Adjunct Professor of Law
spaschall@lbhmlaw.com
(412) 392-2502
Jeffrey Peters
Adjunct Professor
jpeters@cohenlaw.com
Orlando Portela Valentin
ogp5@pitt.edu
William Price
Adjunct Professor of Law
wprice@clarkhill.com
J. Pritchard
Adjunct Professor of Law
matt@surge-ip.com
James Prozzi
Adjunct Professor of Law
prozzij@jacksonlewis.com
John Rozel
Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Adjunct Professor of Law University of Pittsburgh
rozeljs@upmc.edu
(412) 864-5013
Jaromír Šavelka
Jaromír Šavelka
Adjunct Professor of Law
jas438@pitt.edu
(412) 624-7048
Stephanie W. Schreiber
Stephanie Schreiber
Adjunct Professor of Law
stephanie.schreiber@bipc.com
(412) 316-7365
Stephanie Sciullo
Adjunct Professor of Law
stephanie.sciullo@gmail.com
Steven Seel
Adjunct Professor of Law
SSeel@metzlewis.com
Joseph Selep
Adjunct Professor of Law
selep@zklaw.com
Matt Shames
Adjunct Professor of Law
mshames@pitt.edu
Rachael Shaw
Marc Silverman
Director, Barco Law Library
marsil@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1376
Larry Silverman
Adjunct Professor of Law
larry.a.silverman@gmail.com
Jennifer Smokelin
Adjunct Professor of Law
jsmokelin@reedsmith.com
Marcy Smorey-Giger
Adjunct Professor of Law
marcysmorey@gmail.com
Steven Stadtmiller, Esquire
Adjunct Professor of Law
Steven.Stadtmiller@alleghenycourts.us
Natalya Stepanova-Sipper
Adjunct Professor of Law
sipper@consolidated.net
Edward Stevenson
Adjunct Professor of Law
stevensone@nlsa.us
Jay Sukits
Adjunct Professor of Law
jsukits@katz.pitt.edu
412-648-1709
Stephanie Tanzilli
Adjunct Professor of Law
stanzilli@pointpark.edu
Linda Tashbook
Adjunct Professor of Law
tashbook@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1303
David Torrey
Adjunct Professor of Law
dtorrey@state.pa.us
Jonathan Vallano
Adjunct Professor of Law
Elizabeth Van Nostrand
Director, Pittsburgh Summer Institute
Schmidte@pitt.edu
Joshua Vaughn
Adjunct Professor of Law
William Ward
Adjunct Professor of Law
Christine Ward
Peter Watt-Morse
Adjunct Professor of Law
pwatt-morse@morganlewis.com
Heather Weiner, Esq.
Adjunct Professor of Law
Heather-Weiner@gnc-hq.com
Robert Wible
Rob Wible
Director of Academic Success and Bar Exam Services
rwible@pitt.edu
(412) 624-3055
Patricia Wysor
Adjunct Professor of Law
Wysor@pitt.edu
Chalon Young
Adjunct Professor of Law
ccy7@pitt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Karen Clay
Affiliated Faculty
kclay@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-4197
Robert Hayden
Affiliated Professor of Law
Kenneth Lehn
Affiliated Professor of Law
Jeffrey Shook
Affiliated Assistant Professor of Law
jes98@pitt.edu
(412) 648-9365